News Local

NHH honours 59 at annual recognition event

Cecilia Nasmith

By Cecilia Nasmith, Northumberland Today


Fifty-nine individuals were honoured last month at the Northumberland Hills Hospital annual ceremony to recognize staff and physician achievements in service, education and leadership.

The report from president and chief executive officer Linda Davis at the June board meeting listed some of the details, including staff members singled out for long service — 10-year pins for 25 people, 15-year pins for 11, and even a 20- and 25-year pin. Six staff members were honoured for 30 years of service, and health-records technician Heather Brooking got a 40-year recognition.

Chief of staff Dr. David Broderick recognized eight of his colleagues for long service. Dr. Sania Hakim (anesthetist) and Dr. Joseph Parravano (radiologist) were recognized for 10 years of service, and Dr. Haig Basmajian (general surgeon) and Dr. Michael Bayer (general practitioner) for 20.

Dr. Alison Collins, medical leader for the hospital’s laboratory services, received her 25-year pin and Dr. Michael Green — for many years the only obstetrician-gynecologist in the area, was recognized for 35 years of dedicated service.

Finally, Dr. Paul Caldwell and Dr. Ari Haukioja, general practitioners, were each thanked for 40 years of hospital service.

Board vice-chair Elizabeth Selby recognized the efforts of Dr. Broderick, who also marked 30 years of service.

Education awards were presented to three hospital staff members this year — magnetic-resonance charge technologist Pam Knott completed her MR safety-officer certification, registered nurse Rebecca Rutherford completed her bachelor-of-nursing degree, and registered nurse Sharon Tripp completed her master-of-nursing degree.

The evening concluded with the announcement of the 2017 recipients of the hospital’s Leadership and Innovation Awards.

Environmental-services department fourth-class stationary engineer Lodi De Wilde received the Outstanding Innovation Award, given annually to a member of the hospital team who has demonstrated an outstanding ability to take command of a project or situation.

This peer-nominated award recognizes De Wilde’s contributions behind the scenes to regulate temperature and air control in the building. Though his work is not often seen directly by patients, visitors or staff, it has a major impact.

“Lodi’s ongoing analysis and superb attention to detail for our plant operations help us to maximize efficiency of our sophisticated mechanical equipment,” Davis said.

“In the course of a year, this has significant financial and environmental impact by cutting both energy costs and consumption.”

Professional practice leader Kim Lawn is the Outstanding Leadership Award recipient, nominated specifically for her work supporting two of the hospital’s Late Career Nursing Initiative projects on initiating patient-controlled analgesia in the post-acute care unit.

As one of the hospital’s project mentors, Lawn partnered with two senior RNs to assist with the planning, development and implementation of their project, guiding and coaching them through the process to help ensure successful planning and completion, as well as improved patient outcomes.

Davis said Lawn’s commitment to quality care and the integration of best practices is well known.

“Your contribution and mentorship in this particular project is a wonderful example of the many ways you exemplify the roles of leader, role model and coach,” Davis said.